“Holi Suitcases, Hannah! You did what last weekend?!”

This past weekend was a 4-day weekend thanks to 추석 (pronounced chuseok) holidays.  추석 is Korean Thanksgiving where historically, families get together and honor their ancestors while spending time together.

So of course, give Hannah a long weekend, and she will travel—I learnt from the best (thank you Mom and Dad 🙂 ).

I went to Tokyo, Japan! And yes, I went all by myself. And no, I cannot speak Japanese. And yes, I had an incredible trip and I will definitely be returning to explore more of Japan.

I rented an Airbnb apartment for only $26/night, 25 minutes out of Shinjuku, which is a major transit center in Tokyo for trains, the subway, and buses. I had the tiny little apartment all to myself and it was absolutely perfect—quiet, safe area, and the perfect size for one persons short stay. Be sure to check out the apartment I rented using the link I list at the bottom of the blog post.

So what did I get up to?

Friday was not terribly exciting, because I basically travelled all day. Although, it was so nice to get a fabulous full-nights rest that night so that I could wake up early on Saturday  to tackle the day.

On Saturday, I travelled about two hours away to an area called Kawagoe. I wandered around the area, which has been preserved and reconstructed to look very similar to a more “traditional” or “pre-modern” Tokyo.

© HoliSuitcases

© HoliSuitcases

© HoliSuitcases

© HoliSuitcases

That night, I wanted to go to Tokyo City View, but thanks to my phone dying as well as the new external battery charger I bought, I was unable to find it. It was nice to see a different area of Tokyo though.

Sunday was a big day so I went to bed fairly early again on Saturday. On Sunday, I travelled to Sensō-ji Temple, which is Tokyo’s oldest temple and also a major tourist attraction. The only place I really ran into tourists was at Sensō-ji Temple and I saw a few on Saturday in Kawagoe.

Senso-jiTemple (2)

Senso-jiTemple (6)

The grounds were beautiful, but there were so many tourists. Although, I found out I loved the photographing the masses of people visiting the ancient Temple.  The contrast fascinates me.

Senso-jiTemple (3) Senso-jiTemple (4)

I spent time wandering around the area the temple is located in as there are a lot of street food stalls and cute little shops, as would be expected in an area frequented by tourists.

Senso-jiTemple (5)

I travelled home quickly to leave my big camera behind and grab my ticket and headed to Disneyland Toyko! I LOVE DISNEY. Everything Disney is my favorite, so you could say I was slightly excited.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’m probably going to do an entire post about Disneyland Tokyo, so I will not say anymore about it here.

Monday was my last full day in Tokyo so I decided to, kind of accidentally, sleep-in a little bit and then take it easy wandering around the famed shopping areas of Tokyo. The one I tackled first was Shibuya, which was really hard to navigate. Luckily my phone had not died yet.

Shibuya (1)

Shibuya (2)

I stopped at this restaurant for lunch (highly recommend it!).

Shibuya (3)

You choose what you would like outside the restaurant from the vending machine, insert your money, and then receive a ticket.  You then take the ticket into the restaurant and hand it to one of the cooks.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Ta-da!  They make it all fresh and serve it to you nice and hot.  I ordered steaming hot rice and fresh and hot tonkatsu トンカツ (breaded pork cutlet), that they then crack a raw egg over.  The raw egg cooks a little bit, because of how hot the food is. Hands down one of my favorite meals I have ever had!

My phone had died by the time I headed to find an owl café I had been really excited to go to in Akihabara. Akihabara was, let’s just say, not my style.  Since my phone had died and I could not for the life of me find the café, I left quite promptly.

Not before I nabbed a couple pictures, of course.

Akihabara (1)

On my way home that night, I headed to explore Harajuku a little bit. When I go back to Tokyo, I will definitely have to explore Harajuku better! The stores were so interesting and I loved people watching. People watching in Tokyo was something else in general- I loved it.

Harajuku (2) Harajuku (1)

Did I mention I saw a sumo wrestler on the train one morning? It was pretty cool…it is the little things after all.

All in all, I loved Tokyo! I also discovered that I really do not mind traveling alone. I cannot wait to go back and explore Japan some more one day. I must admit, I am also pretty excited to travel solo again.


Check out where I stayed in Tokyo!

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/1408849

3 thoughts on ““Holi Suitcases, Hannah! You did what last weekend?!”

    1. Thank you for the question, Sabrina! I bought the “Starlight” ticket, which means entry after 3pm, and it was around $45, or 5,400 jpy.
      Be sure to check out my post all about Tokyo Disneyland coming on October 5th, for even more information 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: 언영히 겨세요, South Korea | Holi Suitcases

Leave a Reply

