#MerryMonday Bali, Indonesia, 2012

Countdown previewing past Christmas vacations, in preparation for this Christmas’s reveal!

As my brother and I have gotten older, we’ve had more say in where we spend holidays, especially Christmas- and it would be an understatement to say that my family loves Christmas.  The way my brother and I were brought up, it was never about where we celebrated things or where we as a family spent time together: with our lifestyle that was impossible.  Rather, we grew up believing that it does not matter where we are, but that we are together as a family.  This has not only been a philosophy I carry through to so many other parts of my life, but has also given us the chance to spend Christmas in some amazing places.

Episode 1- I cannot imagine starting this series any other way than with: BALI, INDONESIA


Some people prefer to spend holidays visiting a lot of tourist sites, engaging in a lot of activities, and almost constantly busy- my family does not travel like that.  Everyone travels differently and naturally, has different interests and intents going for vacation.  We like to spend ours not living on a strict schedule, relaxing, and generally being away from tourists and tourist attractions.

Welcome to our paradise for two weeks:

Our home
Our home

I must say, my Dad is a pro at finding the perfect accommodation for our family to spend vacations, no matter where we are.  As a family, my Mom, brother, Dad, and I have agreed this house and this vacation was our favorite so far.  Although, after this summer’s beach house on Zanzibar Island, Tanzania, I think we might have to revote!

The house was located about three hours (not completely sure as I slept the whole way), away from the airport and the more touristy area of Bali.  Fun fact- one of the main reasons the area near the airport is so touristy, is because people from all over the world, especially Australia because of proximity, go there to surf.

The house, nestled between rice fields: was two stories with many rooms partly open to the outdoors, had a swimming pool in front of it, and a pathway running from the center of the pool, through the beautifully green garden, straight down to the black-sand beach.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our little slice of heaven.

We spent most of our days lounging around the house, in and out of the pool, and taking walks on the beach.  We traveled into our little town and had drinks at restaurants on the beach.

'Cinderella'
‘Cinderella’
View from the restaurant
View from a restaurant on the beach in our little town

One afternoon, we met a wonderful man who was selling jewelry he’d made.  All of the pieces had meanings behind them, and whether they were true or not, he was a great storyteller and was a kind man who shared about his family with us.  I still wear my necklace.

We visited a couple temples, which were just magnificent.  I wish I knew the names for you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We snorkeled a few times, and my brother learnt how to scuba dive!  Our snorkel and scuba instructor is one of the nicest, most real men I have ever meant- his name is Buddha.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

We went out in the fishermen’s boats early in one morning to see a pod of dolphins.  The sunrise, the dolphins…see for yourself:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bali is more than anyone will ever be able to describe, but the one thing I will always remember is the people of Bali.  The people of Bali are some of the most happy, most genuine, and nicest people you will ever meet.  Nothing I can say will properly express how much I would like you to understand how happy and real, Balinese are.

Bali is reason enough to visit Southeast Asia.  Skip the crowded, more touristy area (unless you’re a surfer), and discover Bali.  Also pick up some Seaweed Pringles, they’re really good!

Bali (4)

Meet the people of Bali.  You won’t be sorry, I promise.  I definitely left a piece of my heart in Bali.

Leave a Reply

