Thankful.

For all my readers who celebrate U.S. Thanksgiving- I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving filled with loved ones and lovely food!

November 27th, 2015.

Thanksgiving 2013
Thanksgiving 2013

Scrolling through my social media feeds filled with pictures of happy faces, a lot of food, and thankful words. Today is a breath of fresh air. It’s been a hard couple of weeks for the world, but seeing many of my friends posting and sharing positive things is what I needed- it’s what we needed. I’m well aware that most of the world does not celebrate Thanksgiving, or at least not on this same day, but all of the love that is overflowing my news feeds, makes the world a little brighter.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that” – Martin Luther King Jr.

November 26th, 2015.

Today, I didn’t wake up around any family. I did wake up today though and that in itself is something to be very thankful for. I woke up halfway across the world from all my family, but I woke up in Seoul, South Korea, and for that, I’m very thankful.

A group of friends and I headed out for an all-you-can-eat night of Korean BBQ; only two of my friends in the group actually celebrate Thanksgiving today, but everyone loves KBBQ. A night of all-you-can-eat is the closest we could come to a Thanksgiving meal, but we loved it. Afterwards, we headed to a café for some dessert, because there’s always room for dessert.

Nutella Choco 빙수
Nutella Choco 빙수

A few people left to see a horror movie, but two friends and I decided to stay in the cozy, warm café. We ended up talking till midnight and thoroughly enjoying ourselves. Some crazy stories come out. And just good life talk about real life, real opinions, and overall just happy.

Definitely a different Thanksgiving from what I’ve gotten use to over the past two years, but I ended the night more thankful than when I woke up. Forever thankful for my family- my rocks, my support system, and always my top priority. Thankful for friends, both new and old. Thankful for new experiences. Thankful for the life my parents made for our family, because we’ve already experienced more than most people will in their lifetime, and with that, my brother and I have been given a unique and precious perspective on life.

Forever thankful for more things than I will ever be able to list.

One thought on “Thankful.

  1. Pingback: 언영히 겨세요, South Korea | Holi Suitcases

Leave a Reply

