A Koh Samui New Years

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Koh Samui, Thailand is a stunning island full of life, color, and beautiful beaches.

We were lucky enough to get to experience New Years in Koh Samui and it is was one of the most incredible things I have ever experienced in my life. No words can describe the wonder of our view.

The night began with dinner at the resort restaurant. I admit, I do not remember what I ate for dinner, but I do remember dessert: coconut cream pie! The only reason I remember this is, because, fun fact- I love the 1960’s T.V. show Gilligan’s Island and they were always making coconut cream pie.

KSNY (14)

A few hours later, we took a short walk down from our bungalow to the beach. We stood in the black night, feet in the sand, and watched the waves crash on the shore. I ran out to meet the ocean at the shores edge. The ocean waves crashed over my feet, I closed my eyes and breathed in the salty night air- then I looked up. The sky was on fire, filled with thousands of paper lanterns floating up into the black, endless sky. The most heart-stirring scene I have ever set eyes on.

KSNY (15)
All the sparks of light against the black night sky are paper lanterns

As the clock growingly approached midnight, the beach was filled with people lighting paper lanterns and setting them loose into the night sky.

KSNY (22)KSNY (16)

We struggled to light our lantern as the wind blew across the beach. We finally got it lit, walked out towards the water, and set it free. We watched it float up to join the thousands of others that filled the sky.

KSNY (18)

KSNY (17)
Our lantern joining all the others (the vague spots of light in the background are other paper lanterns)

The clock struck midnight and fireworks burst through the sky, lighting up the dark ocean water.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This fiery night sky welcomed us into 2012.


 

*In the background of the night sky photos, the small sparks of light against the black sky are paper lanterns

 

Leave a Reply

