It’s Raining, It’s Pouring

BRAVE. I am naming my year BRAVE. I don’t remember how I came across this idea of #NameYourYear instead of New Years Resolutions, but I instantly loved it. I have never been a big ‘New Years Resolutions’ gal…actually, I don’t think I’ve ever seriously made any- I never saw the point. But the idea of choosing a word I want to live by this year sounded so much better. Choosing a word meant being able to go further than a simple list of resolutions could possibly let me go.

It’s January 27th, 2016 and I’m writing this from my bed at home, on a beautifully rainy day in Zambia. I have had plans for blog posts earlier this year, but I have been on greater adventures then I ever could have imagined, in that time. So we’ll just start from now.

I spent two, not be to be cliché, but being completely cliché: life-changing weeks at Harnas Wildlife Foundation. I experienced and did so many things that I have always wanted to do, such as having animals eat from the palm of my hand and just being able to walk into an enclosure (within reason of which animal, obviously) and hang out with the animals in there. I did not know exactly what I would be doing, going into my two weeks, but I came out having done so many more things than I could have ever imagined. Not to mention, I met some pretty amazing people and made some fantastic friends. I cannot imagine how much people who stay there three months have learnt and experienced by the time they leave.

I was nibbled, I was scratched, I was burnt, I was soaked to the bone on numerous occasions, I was so hot I didn’t even want to move, I was mauled by thorn trees, and I’m sure I’m forgetting others, but ever part was my favorite part and every part is a story I will be telling for many years to come.

The experiences I have been blessed to have so far in 2016 have showed me more of who I am, and enforced what I am passionate about and what I want to do with my life.

2016 I pledge to be BRAVE. 2016 I pledge to travel more. 2016 I pledge to work harder on my blog.

From South Africa to Zambia to Namibia to Zambia, again—I’m feeling BRAVE. Leggo 2016.

Leave a Reply

